Spring 2014 Course: Understanding and Implementing Scholarly Teaching Practices

Description


Students in this course will gain understanding of college-level research in STEM education. The course consists of three distinct phases. Students first gain understanding of STEM education literature and of sound educational research techniques and preparing to write meaningful research questions. Students design a methodology to study these research questions in their own instructional settings. Students implement a pilot of their study, and disseminate/share findings with peers.

Overview


  • Instructor: Dr. Ann Cavallo, Professor, Co-Director UTeach Arlington, The University of Texas at Arlington; Dr. Colleen McLinn, Program Director, CU-CIRTL, Cornell University
  • Duration of course: January 22, 2014 - April 25, 2014
  • Synchronous meeting times: every other Wednesday, 3:00-4:30 ET/ 2:00-3:30 CT/1:00-2:30 MT/12:00-1:30 PT (1/22, 2/5, 2/19, 3/5, 3/19, 4/2, 4/16)
  • Format: In addition to bi-weekly synchronous class meetings, students will complete weekly modules and assignments posted on the Moodle course site and engage in the course discussion board. SPSS or similar open source statistical programs will be used in the course. The course will be offered January 22 through April 25.
  • Credits: 2 credits.  Students may participate with or without credit, as they prefer.
  • Course Type: Graduate course
  • Open To: Early or advanced  CIRTL Network graduate students, post docs, academic staff and faculty
  • Technologies: Blackboard Collaborate, Moodle, email, SPSS or similar open source statistical program

 

Groups: