Spring 2014 Mini Course: Teacher Training Learning Modules

Description


Teacher Training Learning Modules (TTLM) will enhance the development of STEM instructors and future faculty across the CIRTL network. The series of modules is for all STEM future faculty and we are targeting early graduate students or those graduate students new to teaching, at the CIRTL Fellow or pre-CIRTL Fellow level, although we expect these TTLMs would benefit participants at all levels of their academic career. The TTLMs will cover basic and advanced topics in teacher preparation. Through our TTLMs, participants will expand their academic flexibility by adding in-depth teacher training on learning communities, discourse and questioning, evidence-based teaching, gender equity and stereotype threat, and teaching as research. Each module will be presented as a unit on its own, and participants are welcome to enroll for a minimum of three units depending on personal background and institutional need. For each module, a Session Plan or Instructor’s Guide will also be provided, allowing network members to run customized, local hybrid sessions for their learning communities.

Overview


  • Instructor: Dr. Kathryn Spilios, Director of Instructional Labs, Boston University; Dr. Bennett Goldberg, Professor of Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Center for Nanoscience & Nanotechnology, Boston University
  • Duration of course: March 5, 2014 - May 14, 2014
  • Synchronous times: every other Wednesday, 11-noon ET/10-11am CT/9-10am MT/8-9am PT (3/5, 3/19, 4/2, 4/16, 4/30, 5/14)
  • Format: The course will alternate each week with synchronous and asynchronous sessions, for a total of 10 weeks. 
  • Credits: Not for Credit
  • Course Type: Graduate course
  • Open To: Early or advanced  CIRTL Network graduate students, post docs, academic staff and faculty
  • Technologies: Blackboard Collaborate, Moodle, email

 

Groups: