Spring 2014 Course: Research Mentor Training

Description


This seminar is designed for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and faculty across the CIRTL Network who desire to improve their skills in mentoring. In this seminar, you will learn to:

  • Improve the efficiency and effectiveness of your mentoring
  • Help provide your mentees with a better research experience
  • Improve your mentees' research productivity
  • Reduce your frustration in mentoring
 

Through facilitated discussions using a format based on collaboration and collective problem solving, you will learn about different mentoring styles and strategies for developing confidence, independence, creativity, and communication skills in your mentees. You will read articles and case studies, compare your goals with those of your mentees, explore time management strategies, and further develop your mentoring philosophy. Rather than adding to the time you will spend mentoring, this seminar is designed to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of your mentoring.

Overview


  • Instructor: Chris Pfund, UW-Madison, Researcher at Wisconsin Center for Education Research, and Melissa McDaniels, Michigan State University, Office of the Provost
  • Duration of course: February 5, 2014 - April 9, 2014
  • Synchronous meeting times: every Wednesday, 1:00pm-2:30pm ET / 12:00pm-1:30pm CT / 11:00am-12:30pm MT / 10:00am-11:30am PT
  • Format: Ten 1.5-hour synchronous sessions every week on Wednesday with discussions of the topics. Asynchronous component includes reading assignments and designing a course syllabus.
  • Credits: 1 credit.  Students may participate with or without credit, as they prefer.
  • Course Type: Graduate course
  • Open To: advanced CIRTL Network graduate students, post docs, academic staff and faculty
  • Technologies: Blackboard Collaborate, Moodle, email

 

Groups: