CIRTL Cross-Network Events

 2015-2016 CIRTL Cross-Network Events

Exploring topics in STEM education
 
This year CIRTL is offering four series: CIRTLCasts, CIRTL Reads, Teaching in the US, and our TAR Capstone series. Our series offer grad students and post-docs the opportunity to engage with experts across the CIRTL network, without the more intensive time commitment of a course. All of our series run on a drop-in basis, with no obligation to commit to multiple sessions. 
 

How do you attend a session? On the day of a session, we'll update the calendar below with a link to the session's Blackboard room. Simply find the session you wish to attend in the event calendar and click "Join this session." If you're new to Blackboard, make sure you review our Blackboard instruction page to familiarize yourself with the software ahead of time. If you plan on attending a CIRTL Reads session, don't forget to read the pre-selected article at the series' Moodle page ahead of time.

Calendar of 2015-2016 CIRTL Events

Date Series  Session Title

September 9, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Effective and Inclusive Research Mentoring

Fundamental Principles of Good (and Bad) Mentoring - Experiences from the Field

September 9, 2015

3PM ET/2PM CT/1PM MT/12PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTL Reads Transforming Graduate Training in STEM Education

September 10, 2015

12PM ET/11AM CT/10AM MT/9AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

Teaching in the US American Students' Expectations

September 16, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Effective and Inclusive Research Mentoring Handling Tricky Mentoring Situations

September 23, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Effective and Inclusive Research Mentoring Setting Clear Expectations and Creating Mentoring Partnership Agreements

September 30, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Effective and Inclusive Research Mentoring Creating Inclusive Lab and Research Groups

October 5, 2015

4PM ET/3PM CT/2PM MT/1PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

TAR Capstone Series What to Expect from My TAR Project? Reflections on the TAR Experience from a Panel of CIRTL TAR Alumni

October 7, 2015

CIRTLCast Series:

No CIRTLcast this week

 

October 8, 2015

12PM ET/11AM CT/10AM MT/9AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

Teaching in the US Developing Effective Communication Skills

October 14, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Fostering Critical Thinking in the STEM Classroom Cooperative Group Learning: Critical Thinking in the Large Lecture Class   (Tentative)

October 14, 2015

3PM ET/2PM CT/1PM MT/12PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTL Reads Understanding Student Pathways in Context-Rich Problems

October 21, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Fostering Critical Thinking in the STEM Classroom Critical Thinking and Peer Instruction: Students learning together  (Tentative)

October 28, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Fostering Critical Thinking in the STEM Classroom Critical Thinking: Inquiry-Based Labs: Rethinking the STEM Laboratory (Tentative)

November 4, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Building a Rewarding Academic Career Faculty Careers at Different Types of Institutions

November 11, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

CIRTLCast Series: Building a Rewarding Academic Career Women in STEM

November 11, 2015

3PM ET/2PM CT/1PM MT/12PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTL Reads Instructor Pedagogy and Student Attitudes

November 12, 2015

12PM ET/11AM CT/10AM MT/9AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

Teaching in the US Grading and Effective Feedback in the American System

November 16, 2015

4PM ET/3PM CT/2PM MT/1PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

TAR Capstone Series All-Network Mid-Project Presentations

November 18, 2015

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Building a Rewarding Academic Career Incorporating Your CIRTL Experience into Your Research Portfolio

December 9, 2015

3PM ET/2PM CT/1PM MT/12PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTL Reads Flipped Classrooms in Higher Ed

January 13, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Assessing What Students Are Learning Facilitating Cooperative Work: How to Assess Active Learning Experiences

January 20, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Assessing What Students Are Learning Formative Assessment as a Means of Gauging Student Understanding

January 27, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Assessing What Students Are Learning Effective Grading: The Art of Providing Useful (and Used) Feedback

February 3, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Learning in the Active STEM Classroom TBD

February 8, 2016

4PM ET/3PM CT/2PM MT/1PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

TAR Capstone Series What to Expect from My TAR Project? Reflections on the TAR Experience from a Panel of CIRTL TAR Alumni

February 10, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Learning in the Active STEM Classroom TBD

February 10, 2016

3PM ET/2PM CT/1PM MT/12PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTL Reads How People Learn

February 11, 2016

12PM ET/11AM CT/10AM MT/9AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

Teaching in the US Recognizing and Handling Acceptable and Unacceptable Behavior

February 17, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Learning in the Active STEM Classroom TBD

February 24, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Learning in the Active STEM Classroom TBD

March 2, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Research Environment TBD

March 9, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Research Environment Creating an Inclusive Research Environment - Overview

March 9, 2016

3PM ET/2PM CT/1PM MT/12PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTL Reads Visuals in STEM Teaching and Learning

March 10, 2016

12PM ET/11AM CT/10AM MT/9AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

Teaching in the US Using Your International Background to Your Advantage in the Classroom

March 16, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Research Environment Creating Inclusive STEM Research Labs in Engineering

March 23, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Research Environment Creating Inclusive STEM Research Labs in Chemistry

March 30, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast SeriesCreating an Inclusive STEM Research Environment Creating Inclusive STEM Research Labs in Biology

April 6, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Teaching Environment Preparing for the College Students of Tomorrow in Science and Math

April 13, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Teaching Environment Preparing for the College Students of Tomorrow in Engineering

April 13, 2016

3PM ET/2PM CT/1PM MT/12PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTL Reads Using Video Games to Enhance Learning

April 14, 2016

12PM ET/11AM CT/10AM MT/9AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

Teaching in the US Developing Your Own Teaching Philosophy by Incorporating Your Cultural Background

April 20, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Teaching Environment Improving Outcomes in Chemistry Through Holistic Instruction for First-Generation, Low-income, and Minority Students

April 25, 2016

4PM ET/3PM CT/2PM MT/1PM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

TAR Capstone Series All-Network TAR Presentations

April 27, 2016

1PM ET/12PM CT/11AM MT/10AM PT

​JOIN THIS SESSION

CIRTLCast Series: Creating an Inclusive STEM Teaching Environment Leveraging Authentic Teaching and Research Practices for Successful NSF and NIH Proposals
 
 

Can't wait until September to take part in our events?

We have archives of our CIRTLCast and TAR Capstone series dating back to 2012 online here.



We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities, programs, and courses. If you have specific accessibility needs, please let us know in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

Have an idea for an event? Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email Robin Greenler: rgreenler AT wisc.edu